2012 Palanca winners declared

MANILA, Philippines – Fifty-eight winners were declared in this year’s Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards, the country’s most prestigious and longest-running literary competition.

Peter Solis Nery became a Hall of Fame Awardee after copping his 5th Palanca 1st place win this year. His Punctuation placed first in the Poetry for Children category, while his Sa Mundo ng mga Kulisap came in 2nd in the Tulang Pambata category. He had previously won Palanca awards in 1998 (Lirio, Short Story – Hiligaynon), 2007 (Candido, Short Story – Hiligaynon), 2008 (The Passion of Jovita Fuentes, Full-length Play), 2011(Donato Bugtot, Short Story – Hiligaynon).

The 2nd prize winner for the Poetry for Children category went to Anca Bautista’s Magic and Nine Other Magical Poems and 3rd prize went to Raymundo T. Pandan Jr.’s The Ocelot and Other Poems.

The winners for the English Full-length Play division are Roberto Arlo B. De Guzman, 1st prize for Practical Aim; Jorshinelle Taleon-Sonza, 2nd prize for The Passion of Andres; and Jose Ma. D. Manalo, 3rd prize for Manilatown.

For the English One-Act Play division, no first place winner was declared. The second prize went to Joachim Emilio B. Antonio for The Dust in Your Place, while the 3rd prize went to Patrick John R. Valencia for In Bed with My Mother.

Carlomar Arcangel Daona won 1st place in the English Poetry category for The Elegent Ghost. Charmaine L. Carreon placed 2nd with The Yonic Lover and Jason Leo G. Asistores placed 3rd for Waiting and Other Poems.

For the English Short Story category, the winners are Rebecca E. Khan, 1st prize for In Transit; Ian Rosales Casocot , 2nd prize for It Always Breaks My Heart a Little to See You Go; and Lystra Aranal, 3rd prize for Bright Lights.

For the English Short Story division, Grace D. Chong won first prize for The White Shoes; Raymund M. Garlitos, 2nd prize for Lauan, The Seed that Wanted to Fly; and Aleli Dew B. Ayroso, 3rd prize for Mister World and His Magical Box.

For the English Essay category, the winners are Hammed Q. Bolotaolo, 1st prize for Of Legends; Martin V. Villanueva, 2nd prize for Dao; and Iriwin Allen B. Rivera, 3rd prize for Patterns.

For the English Kabataan Essay category, the winners are Katrina Bonillo, 1st prize for Chapter One: DOWNLOADING; Sari Katharyn Molintas, 2nd prize for Being Bookish; and Jhesset Thrina O. Enano, 3rd prize for What We Are Losing.


Tagalog division

In the Tagalag division of the Dulang Pampelikula category, the winners are Rodolfo Vera, 1st prize for Death March; Richard S. Legaspi, 2nd prize for Primera Bella; and Mia A. Buenaventura, 3rd prize for Ang Bulag na Musikero.

The Dulaang Ganap ang Haba winners are Vincent M. Tanada, 1st prize for Ang Bangkay; Luciano Sonny O. Valencia, 2nd prize for Ang Penitensiya ni Tiyo Renato; and Allan B.Lopez, 3rd prize for Melodrama Negra.

Joshua Lim So’s Joe Cool:Aplikante placed 1st in the Dulaang May Isang Yugto category, while Renerio R. Concepcion’s Kumandong Nakaiswat placed 2nd. Erick D. Aguilar’s Terminal came in third place.

For the Tula category, Enrique S. Villasis’s Crocopedia placed 1st; Kristian Sendon Cordero’s Pagsalat sa Pilat, 2nd; and Alvin C. Ursua’s Kumpuni, 3rd.

For the Tulang Pambata category, the winners are John Enrico C. Torralba’s Gusto Ko Nang Lumaki, 1st prize; Nery’s Sa Mundo ng mga Kulisap, 2nd; and Nely T. Azada’s Sampung Tula Para sa mga Bata, 3rd.

For the Maikling Kwento category, the winners are Mark Benedict F. Lim’s Banaag, 1st prize; Honorio Bartolome de Dios’s Ang Tawo sa Puso ni Teresa, 2nd prize; and Mar Anthony Simon dela Cruz’ Darleng, 3rd prize.

The winners of the Maikling Kwentong Pambata category are are Will P. Ortiz, 1st prize for Ang Tatlong Bubwit at Bangkang Marikit; Bernadette V. Neri, 2nd prize for Atang sa Kaluluwa Nina Apong Salawal at Apong Saya; and Luz B. Maranan, 3rd prize for Ang Pangat, ang Lupang Ninuno, at ang Ilog.

For the Sanaysay category, Niles Jordan Breis’s Go-See, Kraw Gen, Intro: Sa Daigdig ng Promo placed 1st; Elyrah L. Salanga-Torralba’s Utang Ina, 2nd; and Jing Panganiban-Mendoza’s Redempsiyon, 3rd.

The winners of the Kabataan Sanaysay category are Jan Francis B. Asis’s Sa Ingit ng Pinto, 1st prize; Gerome E. De Villa’s Sa Aking Pagbuklat sa mga Makabagong Pahina, 2nd prize; and Jueliand Peter A. Perez’ Madyik Bisikleta, 3rd prize.


Regional division

For the Short Story-Cebuano category, the winners are Noel P. Tuazon, 1st prize for Duhiraw; Richel G. Dorotan, 2nd prize for Ang Tulo Ka Mayor sa Hinablayan; and Rev. Fr. Rey B. Araneta, CM, 3rd prize for Abog sa Flyover.

For the Short Story-Hiligaynon category, the winners are Alice Tan Gonzales’s Lanton, 1st prize; Dr. Jesus C. Insilada’s Panubok sa Pula Nga Pulos, 2nd prize; and Alain Russ Dimzon’s Binukot, 3rd prize.

For the Short Story-Iluko caregory, the winners are Danilo B. Antalan’s Dagiti Sala Ti Panawen, 1st prize; Fernando Sanchez’ Babato, 2nd prize; and Sherma E. Benosa’s Dagiti “No La Koma” ni Monika, 3rd prize.


© The Philippine Star: September 3, 2012