Peter’s Prize winners named

Three teachers and a nurse were named winners of the first Peter Solis Nery Prize for Literature.

Dr. Jesus Insilada, who teaches English and Literature at Alcarde Gustilo Memorial National High School in Calinog, Iloilo, won first prize in the Binalaybay sang Paghigugma [Love Poetry] category, while Early Sol Gadong, who teaches Advanced Algebra and Trigonometry at UP High School in Iloilo City, was named grand champion of the Labing Malip-ut nga Sugilanon [Very Short Story] competition. Both will be awarded a specially crafted Peter’s Prize medallion, and will be commissioned as the 2013 Peter Solis Nery Foundation’s literary ambassadors for poetry and fiction, respectively.

Other winners include Michael de la Pena, a newly registered nurse from Dumangas, Iloilo and Denmark Sonza Molina, an elementary school teacher at Tugas Elementary School in Sta. Barbara, Iloilo, who won the second and third prizes in the love poetry contest, respectively.

Sponsored by The Peter Solis Nery Foundation for Hiligaynon Literature and the Arts, Inc., both contests were initiated to encourage literature production, and to discover new literary voices, in the region.

All winners and judges of the 2013 Peter’s Prize will be honored with a banquet at the Al Dente Restaurant in the Sarabia Manor Hotel and Convention Center complex on September 7, where medallions, certificates, and cash prizes will be awarded by Palanca Hall of Famer and the PSN Foundation’s CEO Peter Solis Nery.


© Iloilo Metropolitan Times: September 1, 2013